The 7 Stages of Marriage

Building a successful marriage is a lifelong challenge. Understanding the different phases a marriage goes through may help you build a stronger and better relationship. Read on to learn more about the seven stages of marriage.

From: The 7 Stages of Marriage
Next Photo: Thinkstock

Previous Next 1 of 8

Stage One: Passion

This is the honeymoon stage, when romance and intense attraction bond a couple together and lead to commitment. In retrospect, it often seems as short-lived as springtime – by two years, most couples have usually lost that initial magic, though this can vary by couple. But when it is happening, the passion stage is very strong and significant. It is a wave of feel-good brain chemicals orchestrated by Mother Nature to make the two of you forsake all others and take action to ensure the survival of the species.

Even if you’re marrying later in life, or for the second time, nature supplies these delicious bursts of neurotransmitters to make you bond. Couples not only frolic and fall madly in love in the passion stage – they begin to establish the trust, respect and emotional intimacy that will support their relationship forever.

Previous 1 of 8 Next

Average: 3.6 (398 votes)

Stack Adapt for Slideshows

Your Comments