Share on Facebook

7 Places Where Gluten Is Hiding

Gluten can be sneaky. Here are the surprising places it may be lurking.

1 / 8

What Is Gluten?

Gluten is a protein found in grains such as wheat, barley and rye. It gives dough its elasticity. Gluten cannot be processed properly by people with an allergy or sensitivity, or by celiac disease sufferers.

2 / 8

Hiding Place: Your Morning Oatmeal

Most oats are cross-contaminated with other grains, including wheat, barley or rye.

The fix: Buy pure oats with “gluten-free” clearly marked on the label.

3 / 8
Photo: Shutterstock

Hiding Place: French Fries

Some store-bought fries are dusted in flour; some restaurant fries are made in a fryer where battered goods have also been dipped.

The fix: Make your own fries with nothing but potatoes and clean oil; if eating out, opt for boiled spuds instead.

4 / 8

Hiding Place: Malt Vinegar

It contains barley, and therefore traces of gluten.

The fix: Use other vinegars, such as white, balsamic, sherry or wine.

5 / 8

Hiding Place: Meatballs


They’re 
often held together by bread crumbs.

The fix: Make your own, with gluten-free bread crumbs or oats, or simply ground meat, egg and onions.

6 / 8

Hiding Place: Baking Powder

It can contain an anti-caking agent derived from wheat.

The fix: Make your own from baking soda and cream of tartar, or read labels to find a gluten-free brand.

7 / 8

Hiding Place: Soy Sauce

Although made primarily from soybeans, soy sauce may contain wheat.

The fix: Naturally fermented soy sauces.

8 / 8

Hiding Place: Beer

There’s a gluten protein in barley.

The fix: Switch to cider or buy beers labelled gluten-free, which means they are brewed from grains such as millet, rice or corn.